The four regional trauma networks are the backbone of the trauma system.


The Regional Networks were established to progress regional and national priorities, and provide local clinical leadership for regional initiatives. They have made progress in areas such as: 

  • Trauma education and training

  • Coding and Registry training

  • Appointment of permanent trauma staff, particularly trauma nurses


Northern Region

This network covers the four DHBs for Northland, Waitemata, Aucland, and Counties Manukau.

Chair: Dr Christopher Harmston, Northland DHB

Midland Trauma System

This network covers the five DHBs for Waikato, Taranaki, Lakes, Bay of Plenty, and Tairawhiti.  The network hosts the New Zealand Major Trauma Registry. It’s also responsible for the registry’s data quality assurance and reporting functions.

Chair: Dr Grant Christey, Clinical Lead Midland trauma System, Waikato DHB

Central Region Trauma Network

This network covers the six DHBs in the lower part of the North Island. These DHBs are Capital and Coast, Hutt, Wairarapa, Hawkes Bay, MidCentral, and Whanganui. The network comprises of pre-hospital and hospital trauma clinicians across the region.

Chair: Dr James Moore, Anaesthetist & Intensivist Care Specialist; Clinical Lead Central Region Trauma, Wellington Regional Hospital

South Island

This network covers the South Island’s five DHBs:  Nelson Marlborough, West Coast, Canterbury, South Canterbury, and Southern. The workstream comprises stakeholders from ambulance, DHB planning and funding, and hospital trauma clinicians.

Chair: Dr Mike Hunter, Intensivist and Surgeon, Dunedin Hospital